Embeytey – My Queen

A song in Tigrigna

In this song, the singer praises his wife: How wonderful she is and how blessed he feels to have her in his life. The music reflects the traditional role of a wife in Ethiopia. Embeytey in Tigrigna means you are my queen, my everything.

***

To My Wife
by Oscar Wilde

I can write no stately proem
As a prelude to my lay;
From a poet to a poem
I would dare to say.

For if of these fallen petals
One to you seem fair,
Love will waft it till it settles
On your hair.

And when wind and winter harden
All the loveless land,
It will whisper of the garden,
You will understand.

***

Marriage can bring happiness but sometimes it can be difficult.

3 Responses to “Embeytey – My Queen”


  1. 1 sistu May 30, 2008 at 2:44 am

    couldn’t help commenting here. u know i discussed this song with a friend once… about how i sooo do not know any tigre couple who have an ’embeytey’ attitude towards their wives… turns out, there are a few. too bad i never met them

  2. 2 Atim May 31, 2008 at 5:16 am

    šŸ˜†

    Sistu,

    We tend to always assume or generalize about others. The good thing is that we come out of it because of an expected incident or an exposure to their world.

    Indeed, there are Tigray men who have an ’embeytey’ attitude towards their wives. I hope you get a chance to meet them.

  3. 3 me June 12, 2008 at 1:08 am

    hellow wprld here!
    sorry for missing ur wife Oscar Wilde
    peace out!


Leave a comment




Mestawot

lenin

Visitors to Mestawot